A Tribute to The CrossFit Place

I’ve become ‘one of those people’ who won’t stop talking about Crossfit – I would have rolled my eyes at the idea in the past!

About a year ago I wrote an article called, ‘Why I Need Crossfit in My Life.’ Everything I said then is true still. I’m two years into the experience now and loving it more than ever. I could ramble on about the physical and mental benefits of ‘constantly varied, high intensity, functional movement’, but that’s not the only thing that keeps me going back for more.

Before I started Crossfit I was concerned that I would feel inferior and pathetic in that environment. Thankfully the feel-the-fear-and-do-it-anyway concept kicked in – but as it happened, there was nothing to fear anyway. Everything is scaled to your capabilities in a way that makes you feel like you can do it, even if a movement is wildly out of your comfort zone.

The aspect that has the most value to me (aside from their technical skills) is the three coaches’ determination to create a positive environment. This is what The CrossFit Place does so successfully. It can be seen in the coaching of the most experienced athletes, right down to the complete beginners: there is a desire for everyone to succeed.

It’s not a wishy-washy positivity; it is a positivity that shows you that you’re capable of doing so much more than you imagined, and pushes you to achieve it. Obviously you have to show up, put in the work, and take the advice you’re given – but if you do that then you can’t go far wrong. It’s not what you’re able to do that people judge you on; it’s your attitude, and how you put it into action.

Positivity breeds positivity. There have been so many times when I’ve achieved something that may seem small but that has been a huge step for me. The celebration in my head is always matched, and often exceeded, by the lovely Crossfitters around me! They know what it means. And I find myself doing the same for others, because the attitude is contagious.

I can’t pretend that it’s always easy. Crossfit is hard – especially when you’re doing it right! Sometimes a workout doesn’t go so well and it’s easy for internal negativity to creep in; we’re only human. Fear. Failed lifts. Exhaustion. Tears. Grumpiness. And yet not once have I felt inferior or pathetic as a result of the Crossfitters around me.

It’s when things are difficult that their positivity is most needed and most appreciated. There are times when you finish last, are sweating like crazy, smell minging, and shake your head wondering why you do this to yourself. It’s those times when you find a hand on your shoulder, their eyes reading your helplessness, and hear a voice that says, ‘That was rough, most people wouldn’t have bothered. You came and you did it.’

I can’t speak for every Crossfit gym, because I’ve never been to another one, and it must depend greatly on the people involved. All I know is that I’m blessed.

Thank you, Coaches. Thank you, fellow Crossfitters.

Leave a Reply

