Creativity Connects

My two brothers and I have different interests, different talents and different ways of thinking.

I love reading and writing; Jonathan finds them difficult. David is great with computers; they’re a complete mystery to me. Jonathan draws colourful pictures for hours on end; I like art, but it’s never high priority. And yet in some ways we’re very similar.

We are creative. The sparks of inspiration can have exactly the same effect on us, showing how close we really are, despite the differences in subject matter.

A couple of weeks ago I went down to the kitchen at 1am, searching for sustenance. I was going to have an early night, but that rarely works out. I returned a juice carton to the fridge and picked up my drink, wielding a chocolate dessert in the other hand.

A six-foot-five figure appeared in the doorway. I jumped so hard that my apple juice nearly flew out of the glass! The hairs on my arms were visibly raised, until I realised that I wasn’t about to get attacked by a burglar.

‘Jonny!’ I exhaled, with a hiss. ‘You nearly gave me a heart attack!’

I recovered quickly. He laughed noiselessly, and went to open the fridge door. He had an air of excitement about him – as did I.

‘I’m supposed to be asleep, but I got an idea for some writing, and I had to do it,’ I said.

‘I’m supposed to be asleep, but I got an idea for a picture, and I had to draw it,’ he replied.

I smiled. ‘Wow, we’re so different…’

He took two spoons out of the drawer and handed one to me, studying me quizzically.

Pause.

‘Is it weird that we both got inspiration and that we’ve both just ended up in the kitchen eating Rolo desserts?’ he said.

We laughed and then shushed each other immediately, in case Mum was asleep in the next room.

‘That was funny,’ I said, ‘I’m going to write it down.’

‘That was funny,’ he said, with his eyes sparkling, ‘I’m going to draw it!’

Leave a Reply

